About Yarborough Mill
Yarborough Mill is a privately-owned historical property in a very unique setting. Once a working gristmill and thriving settlement at the turn of the century, it has been transformed into a beautiful outdoor wedding venue. The Mill, where wheat and corn were ground into flour and cornmeal, is now used as the reception area. Although all of the original Mill equipment is long gone, the high ceilings, hand-hewn beams that span over 30 feet and old handwriting on the walls add to the authenticity and rustic feel.
The Mill was originally owned and built in 1849 by Percy Yarborough, a physician and pharmacist who practiced in nearby Adairsville, and in 1885, he added the Queen Ann style Victorian home. The original farmhouse which dates back to 1849 is now used as the bridal cottage. The barn also built around that time now houses the honeymoon and suite and an area for the groom to get ready in the loft, while the old general store is used as a catering prep area.
In 1998, the property was purchased and lovingly restored by the current owners to its original state. Their efforts to stay true to the original design is evident at every turn. The property has 75 acres, includes 11 structures, and boasts a picturesque stream through the middle of it all. Its special blend of architecture, from the gristmill at the water’s edge, to the stately Victorian home on the hillside, is perfectly situated in a beautiful pastoral setting on the water, creating a stunning background for your outdoor wedding